Munchkin Tales

As munchkin gets closer to the 2 year old mark, I can already begin to see the signs of what they call terrible two. Initially he was interested in my phone and though he would sometimes get angry when I did not give it to him, a toy would easily distract him. Now he is more intelligent and knows exactly what he wants. Usually, I hear it from family or friends that he has grown a little bigger. I think it is because I see him every day and it seems like he is the same little munch. These days, his milestones are what tell me he is growing.

In December, if we did not want him touching anything, it was simple. We would put it on the top part of the seat and forget all about it. Nowadays, he will climb up the seat and reach to the top for whatever you thought you were hiding.  Currently, the remote is our all time favorite. As long as he sees it, he wants it. It doesn’t matter whether its mummy or daddy who has it, he just wants it period. This weekend, I saw his new reaction to “No”. In two seconds, he had tossed himself to the ground yelling at the top of his lungs. I have seen tantrums before but this is the mother of them all. I stared for about a minute, not knowing what to do. Within that time frame, a couple of things crossed my mind. Do I go my mother’s way, slipper and tap his behind a bit? Or do I go according to the reading I have done that says tantrums sometimes are to seek attention, as he is at that stage where he wants to be understood, but still hasn’t got all the words right? Well I went with the latter, but I made it crystal clear that I was not giving him the remote. He cried for a while, but I explained the same thing and when he saw I wasn’t changing my mind, he decided to take it. At that very moment, I actually saw him testing me to see how I would react. Wow, these kids are so intelligent.

On a different note, munchkin is well adjusted to the new nanny, a month later. He has mastered saying hi on the phone, feeding well, playing with his toys and enjoying her company. She might do a few things differently in terms of house chores, but I have learnt how to live with it. As long as my munchkin is happy, I can sort out the rest.

As I wait for the next milestone, this is how big we have become:

Just a week left and I tick the 19th month off...

Just a week left and I tick the 19th month off…

Share your thoughts

